Skip to content

TV nostalgia

March 20, 2012

I’m not sure if I should be admitting this, but some of my earliest memories of watching TV are of an old black and white set we had in my parent’s (unfinished) basement…and it was probably reasonably new at the time! I even remember how big of a deal it was when I could finally watch Snuffy in colour in our newly finished (in classic 70’s rec room style) basement.

It’s funny how certain shows trigger certain memories. The Lawrence Welk show transports me to my grandparent’s living room, with the green shag carpet, and my grandfather smoking away in his lay-z-boy. Those weekend sleepovers are one of my favorite memories…

Now if you wanted to know what I remember when I think of my father watching TV (when he wasn’t being tortured by Dallas or my mother’s favorite Habs (he was a Leaf fan – it shames me to say)) it has to be The Tommy Hunter Show:

And as much as we all moaned and groaned when his ‘twangy shows’ came on the air, play some of that twang and I can guarantee I’ll be tapping along. It’s often odd when my phone shuffles up some O Brother Where Art Thou right after playing Disturbed, or when it thinks Chattahoochee is a good lead in for some Metallica or Lady Gaga *g*.

So it makes me sad to read that tonight will be Tommy’s last show of his final tour. Here’s a recent interview with George Stroumboulopoulos where he reminisces about his incredible career and talks about his retirement after 56 years:

Which TV shows transport you back in time?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 8:28 pm

    Oh man, you just took me back to my childhood Friday nights (one channel — CBC!). Tommy Hunter was a fixture in our house — we saw the live show twice (in school auditoriums!)(including the Allen Sisters, Al Cherney, Debbie Lori Kaye, the Rhythm Pals, etc.) & got all their autographs.

  2. Anita McCabe permalink
    March 20, 2012 8:33 pm

    Yep, listened to the same Tommy Hunter and I remember the Irish Rovers being one of the early things I got to see in colour, LOL! We got our first colour TV in 1978-79 and a VCR in 1981. I can remember we paid $600 for it!! I remember my biggest groans came from Dad turning to CBC and watching David Suzuki or some such thing. Mind, with two channels, nothing was too riveting! Now, I’d hang on Mr. Suziki’s every word, funny enough but it was my son, not my father who made me realize his value.

    • March 20, 2012 11:03 pm

      And just think, one day our kids are going to be commenting on how we spent $600 on our first iPad (or what have you). My first VCR memory is renting it at the corner store, and lugging that HUGE thing home *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

