Skip to content

Pet peeve

March 22, 2012

(Here I am making it sound like this is my only one – nope I’ve got a list, so let’s call this one my conversational pet peeve)

When I say, ‘pardon me’ (may also be ‘what’, ‘huh’ or ‘sorry’), because I didn’t hear something and the speaker says something different, usually an elaboration on the initial thought. Often this ‘clarification’ does no such thing, as I HAVE NO POINT OF REFERENCE!

Example –
Person I was not paying attention to – ‘wah wah wah’
Me – ‘Pardon me?’
Person who ignored my request – ‘Goobledy goobledy’
Me – ‘What the hell are you talking about?’
Irrationally irate person – ‘Waka goobledy waka, dammit!’

Is it just me? What’s your pet peeve?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 10:41 pm

    You know, as I was waiting for the page to load, I was thinking… As is she only has ONE pet peeve 🙂

    THIS drives me bonkers. Willy does it to me all the time, making me want to yell “please just repeat the same effing words you said the first time!!!”. Of course I am the person who repeas the same words only once, and if he still doesn’t hear me, I say “never mind”. THAT drives him bonkers 🙂

  2. colleen80 permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:13 pm

    Sounds similar to one of my pet peeves which is being ignored or when you’re talking and someone just walks away mid-sentence. SO rude!

    • April 3, 2012 10:50 pm

      Oh, that might make me murderous if it was someone who made a habit of it.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

