Skip to content

Lesson in telling the whole truth

March 23, 2012

I’ve had this button since 2005 or so. Not only did I support the proposed law, but the in-your-faceness sort of appealed to me too (shocking I know!). It’s been kicking around for years, usually in one of the junk baskets in the front hall.

When we moved, last July I’ll point out, we moved the junk baskets, and in fact, the whole junk table ‘as is’ and I’ve only just recently gotten around to sorting them (disorganized much?). As I was organizing the stuff, V picked up the badge and asked what it said. Now, since she doesn’t read yet, and it has been drilled into her head that the ‘s-word’ is a bad word, I may have paraphrased a bit when I told her, ‘it says anyone can marry whoever they want’.

This, apparently, struck a chord with my little girl, as she immediately asked to wear the pin. And then she asked the next time we went out, and then she asked the next time she got dressed up and went to a children’s concert, and so on.

Not only does she wear it, she displays it. If her jacket or sweater covers it up she makes sure to arrange her clothes so it’s visible. She wants everyone to know that it’s okay to marry whomever you want. And she does attract some attention to it, I’ve seen more than one adult staring at her, but so far no one has commented. And I just dread the first time someone reads it back to her. Because of that stupid (bad word!) s-word.

Anyone have a button maker?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 8:33 am

    I think she’s got character your little one. But when someone does read it back to her, she might get upset. It’s great to teach her stuff that’s important but maybe wait a bit more longer. But it warms the cockles of my heart to know that the young one is thinking in that positive direction.
    Recently I was happy to know that my 5 year old niece asked a tough question to her father that he couldn’t answer and was stunned that she asked it. I’m proud of what she asked cause if the kids ask adults how they could do stupid things, then this world has a lot to be proud off.

    • March 25, 2012 9:20 am

      Thanks Roshan. It’s really incredible the things she comes out with sometimes.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

