Skip to content

SOC Sunday – the tale of the microwave

April 8, 2012

#SOCsunday

Today’s (Optional) Writing Prompt: What causes you anxiety? Not just stress but true anxiety. How does your body and mind generally deal with it? How do YOU deal with it?

(This post may have been inspired by the writing prompt, but I don’t think it really qualifies)

==================

Last year just after we sold our house, our new (2008) microwave decided to give up the ghost. And not just in the ‘get the repairman in’ sort of way, and thanks to the company we bought it from, also not in the ‘well just get it replaced’ sort of way. No. It turned out that the extended warranty had to be fully exhausted (3 major items replaced) before they’d even consider replacement. This meant that on top of dealing with buying, cleaning, selling, packing, and the billion things those each entail, we’d also have to wait through at least 4 days (weeks, stretching into months apart) of random arrivals, 4 days of our kitchen torn apart, 4 days of repairmen scratching their heads, stumped at what could be wrong.

Oh. This was also after supply chains had been severely disrupted last year by the Japanese earthquake. So we were quickly closing in on the transfer of ownership on our house and we still had no working microwave. I should explain here, it was a microwave/hood vent, so it’s considered a fixture. And we sold the appliances with the house.

Finally, with about a week to go before transfer of ownership, hubby managed to wrangle a deal to cut us out of the warranty nightmare and get us (technically I guess it was for the new owners) a new microwave. There would be no extended warranty on it (some might say this isn’t a bad thing), but it would beep and light up, and heat things as if by magic.

In the meantime we moved into our house, looked at the kitchen and realized it would need a complete do-over at some point. We then looked at the spot designed for a microwave, and filled it with cookbooks and haven’t looked back. There are exactly two times when I miss it – when I’ve got to melt butter, I’ve been known to break a glass prep bowl or two if I’m not careful, and when I’m surfing pinterest boards and I see the fun you can have by putting a bar of ivory in the ol’nuker.

The upsides of not having the microwave include: it forced me to be more organized, I need to think about dinner more than 30 minutes before hand, we learned just how delicious bacon is when cooked in the oven (but the cleaning – ugh) and we have more counter space!

======

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules:

Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
Link up your post here.
Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2012 8:42 am

    Microwaves are a great convenience, so I sympathize. I’m a slow coffee drinker, so I rely on mine for warm-ups.

  2. Fadra permalink
    April 14, 2012 10:31 pm

    Oh, being in the midst of all the house selling/transferring stuff, I SO sympathize. I think I could live without a microwave. I just prefer not to 🙂

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

