Skip to content

Stuff I found while stumbling around

June 8, 2012

I just took a look at the open tabs on my browsers (yes I said browsers) and I realized 49 open tabs may be excessive. I used to have an additional 90 tabs snoozed in Chrome, but they went goodbye with my harddrive *sniff*. What better way to get them closed then to share?

Sure, V and I may have had a couple of Jubilee teas up here, but nothing can compare to the hardcore tea Alexander Kumar put on at Concordia Station, ANTARCTICA. Tea and scones and -70C? I’m guessing it was the shortest one too.

Twenty-something science (Hey! I’m old enough to read it twice!) has a nice rant about the wastefulness of prepackaged snack packs. Really people, measure it out yourself. (I also hate the stuff marketed to kids. It’s really hard to grocery shop with V when she sees all those little yogurts and cheese strings. I *promise* her that the ones that I make are just as good.)

Also? Touch a Truck is coming! Touch a Truck is coming! Sunday the 10th from 10 to 3 at Lincoln Heights. 40 vehicles – last year we saw firetrucks, the bookmobile, buses, an ambulance, a crane…so many HORNS! And a steal at $6/person

Now for the AV portion of our show. A bunch of the open tabs were videos I wanted to go back to, or ones that tickled my funny bone. And sure, I could put them in some boring old list on YouTube, but who ever looks at those?

First off, I knew bacon was pretty magical, but it turns out it might just be the cure for everything:

Next up, how about we all take a minute to remember to not judge a book by it’s cover:

Going old-school, an NRC video from 1971 showing one of the first interactive computers for animation. With GUI and mouse! (h/t to OttawaStart for this one)

Sesame Street really has always rocked, haven’t they:

And finally, David Attenborough narrating the video of a tortoise mounting a Croc:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 6:37 pm

    As much as I enjoyed all the content in your post; the thing that really caught my eye was “tabs snoozed in Chrome.” I know what I’ll be looking into in more detail later tonight. 😉

  2. June 9, 2012 12:56 pm

    I saw the Touch a Truck event for tomorrow. Hubby is working this weekend so I debated taking Petite. She’s not super into trucks or vehicles yet, though this past week WAS “Transportation Week” at the home daycare she attends. And she’s loved playing with the trucks and machines there. So it might be a nice follow up. I assume you’re going? Poke at me via e-mail (Jiliana2 AT gmail DOT com) to let me know what time you’ll be there. Maybe we can hook up? Hugs to you, your DH and V. 🙂

    • June 12, 2012 9:47 pm

      So glad you guys made it! V had a great time hanging out with Petite.

  3. June 10, 2012 4:16 pm

    Now I have that “Bacon” song in my head! 😉 I agree about the wasteful packaging too. Are more (or any) food production companies using at least recycled containers?

    • June 12, 2012 9:49 pm

      It’s a catchy one, isn’t it? I’m not sure, the trend I’ve seen lately is ‘biodegradable’ packaging. And I should admit that I’m a total failure when it comes to my Keurig. I do use the refillable filter sometimes, but the prepackaged ones are just so handy. Now if they only made them out of corn plastic.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

