Skip to content

Business opportunities?

June 12, 2012

A lot of people I know regularly pay for services around their homes. They pay for cleaners, for car washes, for mechanics, for lawn maintenance, for pool service, for babysitters or for someone to cook their meals. However, I’ve identified some gaps in service that some enterprising soul could quickly fill. Those irritating little jobs you know, the ones you’re just sick of doing. For instance, I would pay good money for someone to:

  • Put my laundry away. I can’t explain it but I have a mental block. I get it washed, dried, folded and sorted. Then it sits in piles. Then it get’s shuffled through and thrown around, then I’m not sure what’s clean and what’s dirty, and then it’s the next weekend and I have another 15 loads of laundry. I’ll get it folded and sorted, they just need to get it on the hangers and in the drawers.
  • Come by daily and throw out the clip ties from the bread bags and milk bags. It seems this is a skill neither of us were taught and our counters are often littered with them.
  • While they’re in the kitchen they can also clean the caps of the ketchup, honey, and the sides of the jam. Ugh. Duties might extend to wiping off knife handles after ‘someone’ has used them for jam, jelly, honey, or peanut butter.
  • Possibly related to the above points: they could also take the rolls of toilet paper off the back of the toilets and put them in the holders.
  • File my mail/bills. I posted this picture in February, and that may very well be the last time I tackled it:

  • Find all the shit my daughter moves. The kid is a serious magpie. She just wanders through the house until something catches her eye, then it’s in the nearest purse, pocket or bag. Last spring hubby was hauling V’s summer toys out of the shed and he found our missing van keys (the ones he blamed me for losing ALL WINTER) in the seat of her ride-on toy.

    Magpie’s secret cache

  • Argue with my daughter. I’m tired of losing, it’s someone else’s turn.

What are some of those annoying little every day things you’d pay good money for someone else to take care of?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nora permalink
    June 12, 2012 9:57 am

    OK – I think I peed a little when you mentioned V being a magpie! L went into the shed and took the keys from the lawn mower and put them in his pocket. Luckily hubby knew enough that it was L and not me so I didn’t get blamed, and luckily L knew exactly where he had put them 5 days later (still in the side pocket of his shorts which were in the laundry – still dirty of course!)

    I would pay good money for someone to wash the critters’ feet everyday so I can go to bed with clean sheets and not ones with sand in them! Doesn’t seem to matter how clean their feet seem to be, the sand always ends up in my bed!! BTW – call me!

    • June 12, 2012 9:53 pm

      Hah! I can imagine the scene when your hubs went looking for them *g* and nice job knowing exactly where they were!
      Oooh ya, the sand. I think they must smuggle it in!

  2. smothermother permalink
    June 12, 2012 12:24 pm

    i would pay money for someone to come and go through all of the crap we have in the basement and organize it or toss it. there are boxes and boxes of stuff we packed up when did the renovation. that was 4 years ago. sigh.

    i’m afflicted by the same laundry paralysis as you. we should start a support group.

    when your person is finished arguing with V, please send them over to our place to argue with the jellybean.

    • June 12, 2012 9:58 pm

      I like it! It really does sound like the laundry thing is common, I’m weirdly glad to hear that. Oh, and I’ll try to make sure V doesn’t exhaust them too much *g*

  3. June 12, 2012 3:13 pm

    My laundry is currently all over Z’s bed and I have 30 minutes before school is over to rectify that. I can easily do piles of laundry but I do loathe putting it away.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

