Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 19, 2012

Started as any normal day, with omelets on the deck, surveillance tools and fish tape.* We then hmm’d and haw’d for about 45 minutes while deciding if we had time to head up to Eganville to go to the Bonnechere Caves.

I’m not sure how these conversations go in your house, but around here I can’t tell if we’re each talking to a third person, or if there’s just some filter or decoder I’m missing.

I’ll  say, ‘We don’t have to go if that’s not how you want to spend Father’s Day’. He’ll reply with, ‘Okay, I’ll go have a shower then we can head out since that’s what you want to do’. While he’s getting ready I’ll pack a picnic lunch. He’ll come down and see me getting ready and say, ‘Oh, so we’re going? Do you think we’ll have enough time?’

Long story short? We sure did, and it was totally worth it. (On the way up we stopped at Wes’ Fries in Arnprior – chip truck at 10:30am? Breakfast of champions.) I should note, we had no difficulty discussing stopping at the chip truck, so maybe it’s situational?

I’m also happy to report that V is out of her ‘I spy’ phase and has now taken up the time honored tradition of mooing at cows while ensconced in a speeding vehicle.

Back to the caves – see this right here? Mind-blowing.

DSC04545-001

The fossils of animals that lived 400 to 500 MILLION years ago. Before dinosaurs, before  fish, before vertebrates of any kind.

And they trusted me to hold them:

DSC04550-001

I was amazed at V. She trekked off on her own, in the damp, not-so-well-lit caves, on an adventure when the tour guide offered an unguided section to explore:

DSC04573-001

She was not impressed that her sandals got well

Spelunking really works up an appetite. It’s really too bad that I forgot almost 1/2 the food I’d prepared:

DSC04616-001
We all made it back in one piece, despite the apparently ferocious poison ivy in the area. Seriously, either they get a lot of forgetful tourists, or the poison ivy is lurking around every corner, just waiting to pounce.

DSC04597-001

Warning? What warning? Sorry can’t see it for all the poison ivy

We then headed over to Bill’s sister’s to fete the fathers, and here’s my favorite shot from that event:

DSC04688-001

Not even a male cat

Then we came home to the break-in…Hmm, maybe I should have kidnapped that cat!

*If hubby didn’t do physical security for a living his wish lists might worry me a bit.

PS – the omelet wasn’t on his wish list.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 7:22 am

    Looks like you guys had a great Fathers Day! Laflèche Caves are also fun for spelunking!

    • June 26, 2012 2:46 pm

      Thank you! I’ve been trying to remember the name of those caves! Off to add it to the to-dos

  2. June 26, 2012 12:36 pm

    what a perfect sounding father’s day!! Glad that you all had a great time!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

