Skip to content

SOCS – The stories of my life

June 24, 2012

#SOCsunday 

Today’s (Optional) Writing Prompt: What are the stories of your life that you love to tell people when you have a chance?

The two stories that I find myself telling more than any others are the stories of the two loves of my life – how I met my husband, and how we had V (stop me if you’ve heard this before).

The story of how Bill and I met is slightly unconventional (at a Metallica concert), but it’s more likely these days to turn in to a grouse about how we shacked up after a month but it took us another 7 years to make it down the aisle *g*. Take that seven year itch!

The anniversary of our meeting is also the last time I had a drink, so it’s a double anniversary for me.

Then, 18 years after we met, we had V, our little miracle. I’m still amazed to live in a time when she was even possible. Think about it, over the whole existence of humankind, the hundred thousand years or so, it’s only been 35 years that this has been possible. How incredibly small is that window? And we just happen to be living now. (I’ll also point out that at the time we’d had V we’d been trying for 1/3 of that time – which,  to my mind, is an incredibly long time).

Years and years and years of in vitro fertilization and several operations went in to the making of her, I’m going to shout it from the rooftops and even after I do that I’m not sure I could even scratch the surface of what she means to us.

It just occurred to me while writing these out that both stories are really about going slow. And only one was by choice.

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up here.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 1:23 am

    with a story like that I can see why you would be shouting it from the rooftops too.

    • June 27, 2012 9:55 am

      Whew, I sometimes worry people get sick of hearing about it…it doesn’t seem to stop me *g*

  2. June 25, 2012 7:23 am

    Great stories! I have friends who have been struggling to conceive for awhile now, I hope they have your success!

  3. June 25, 2012 8:20 am

    You are proof of that old adage that good things come to those who wait. I am also one that started shacking pretty soon after meeting the man, but we have yet to go down the aisle 7 years later – though we still are going strong.

    Congrats on your child and what great stories you will be able to tell her.

  4. June 25, 2012 2:28 pm

    How exciting that your in vitro story had a happy ending! Congratulations on your little miracle.

  5. June 27, 2012 12:22 am

    Definitely stories worth sharing. Congrats of all that you’ve achieved,

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

