Skip to content

Blame it on the wombat

June 28, 2012

We had a wonderful day. The last day of school, the last day of JK. Her cubby was cleaned out, we even got some school supplies back! Hubby and I both picked her up – it’s her sense of balance you see – we both brought her to school on her first day of the year so we should both pick her up on the last.

On a whim we decided to go out for a celebratory dinner. (I’m fairly sure she talked us in to it.) A quick dip in the pool substituted for a bath (what? she had to end up cleaner than she started and I got to brush her hair). Yes, she may have talked us in to that too.

Then we were off to a strawberry picking date. A full set of sticky, rosy fingers and a full belly later (and memories of two years ago) and we were home. Perhaps we should have considered the ordering of bath and berry picking…

As usual, we selected 3 books and tucked in to read them. What wasn’t ordinary was that she let me select the books tonight, so I decided to pick some of the oldies we hadn’t read in a while.

And then a favorite wombat brought me to my knees. As I read the start of each page I heard my little two year old finishing the end of the lines. Lines she no longer remembered, as hard as she tried (when she tried). As she fussed and flipped beside me I remembered the little body snuggled up against me, calmly following along. As my heart burst and tears ran down my face she stopped tucking her dolly in and started patting my arm and ‘shh, shh’ing me. And I told her they were good tears, rather than explaining just how crazy her mother really is.

This is kindergarten people, I’m never going to survive high school.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 12:03 am

    The wombat is one of my favourite books. I love it when JT picks that as one of his stories.

  2. June 29, 2012 12:22 am

    We got massive amounts of stuff home from school: 5 full changes of clothes for the boy. No wonder we seemed to be running out of things.

    I love the wombat book too, & I was hoping that’s what you were talking about!

    It’s clear who the boss is in your family 😉

    • July 2, 2012 10:28 pm

      “It’s clear who the boss is in your family”

      Like there was ever a doubt.

  3. June 29, 2012 7:20 am

    The passage of time hits us much harder than it doee them.

    • July 2, 2012 10:28 pm

      It really does. I can’t believe how much I’ve forgotten too.

  4. June 29, 2012 11:17 am

    We have that book. Petite absolutely loves it. She can recite some of it, word for word. And like the wombat, she curls up against me when we get to the end, or she flings her little arms around my neck, proclaiming, “I love you Mommy!” Happy tears are good. Remembering is wonderful. Cherished moments like these are so special. Hugs to all of you from us.

    • July 2, 2012 10:29 pm

      So sweet, I had no idea so many people knew that book.

      Thanks Gil.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

