Skip to content

Happy Tesla Day!

July 10, 2012

Good ole Nikola would be 156 if he hadn’t died (celibate, penniless, and a wee bit kooky) in 1943…

Did you turn on a light today (incandescent, fluorescent or neon, doesn’t matter)? Happy Tesla Day!

Did you use any electrical devices (AC and the first hydro electric dam)? Happy Tesla Day!

Need an x-ray? Happy Tesla Day! (well, maybe not so happy after all…)

Actually, chances are something you did today was made possible by one of the 300 patents he held. Happy Tesla Day!

And really, without Tesla, we wouldn’t have Tesla coils, and if we didn’t have Tesla coils we wouldn’t have this:

And since we’re getting our arts on, he was a poet too!

The Oatmeal has called him the greatest geek who ever lived. Go check out some serious Tesla love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 5:14 am

    Lol, I was aware of his inventions, but I wasn’t aware that we own this Adam Savage clip to Tesla too! 😉

  2. smothermother permalink
    July 11, 2012 7:57 am

    I love those Oatmeal comics!

    Happy Telsa Day!

    (sorry I had to use a bogus email because I don’t know what my WordPress loging is and I haven’t been able to get them to figure out how to get them to send me a new one. It’s been 6 months of this craziness, and hence why I haven’t really been posting comments on WordPress blogs. 😦 )

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

