Skip to content

Win one for the weeds.

July 12, 2012
tags: ,

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time you know I like to garden. Alright, I love to garden. And as any gardener knows, a big part of gardening is weeding. The former owners of this home made my job that much more interesting by hanging birdfeeders everywhere. And what do you put in birdfeeders? SEEDS. And what do the birds do with those damn seeds? Fling them all over the garden. And then I spend 3 days weeding around killer roses.

It may be that I ran out of steam, or it may be that I decided to see if we could attract any monarch butterflies to the garden; whichever is true, I now have a wonderful common milkweed growing happily in my front garden.

I knew that their ‘fluff’ was a favorite fall photo subject:
Milkweed fluff

Seriously, how pretty is that?
Milkweed fluff

But I didn’t know just how good they smelled! And the flowers are damn pretty too!
DSC05579-001

I won’t be keeping them around until they get to the fluff stage, I mean I’m not opening a milkweed farm here or anything, but I don’t care what the Ontario government says, I’m moving this one from the weed to plant column.

No butterflies yet, but you as you can see the ants are pretty impressed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2012 7:45 am

    C’mon, don’t you want to keep them for the fluff & try to spin it?

  2. July 16, 2012 4:27 am

    I do love the fluff too, and didn’t know that they produced such pretty flowers!!! I also didn’t know that they attract Monarchs 🙂 I am always learning from you…

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

