Skip to content

I’m outraged!

July 16, 2012

A few days ago I was walking Chet behind our house when we met  a woman walking two Westies. Before I let Chet go up to them, I asked her if they were friendly. I do this as we’ve encountered a lot of dogs that, while I’m sure are usually perfectly lovely, do have issues with Chet. Sometimes it’s because he’s on-leash (he’s a husky, duh), sometimes it’s because they’re just tiny and he’s huge, sometimes they’ve been attacked, sometimes they’re just jerks. Who knows, in their doggy ways I’m sure some of them sense he’s getting frail and blind and just have to be big dog. There are tonnes of reasons, and I just check to make sure the owner feels they won’t feel threatened.

The woman said they’d be fine, noted that the older one might be a bit standoffish. She barely had the words out of her mouth when a (dogless) woman, who’d been biking towards us passed and tossed this garbage over her shoulder, ‘She should be asking you that. He looks dangerous.’

My poor, sweet boy has been maligned!
And I was too shocked to say anything:

Chet, however drowned his sorrows:

No, not like that, like this:

I get why kids, who are used to seeing huskies on TV and movies are a bit intimidated by my 92lb guy, but she really should have known better. I get the feeling she probably supports breed bans too just needs a few more puppy kisses in her life. Anyone else out there deal with irrational reactions to their pups? Any witty retorts I can keep on hand for next time?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 11:35 pm

    I owned a pitbull for 13 years. I’ve seen it all. Almost 99% of the time I too, ended up being too shocked and hurt to say something at the time. It’s SO frustrating….. Where do these dog owners who actually don’t know what a dog is come from?? Are they aliens maybe?? 🙂

    • July 18, 2012 1:45 pm

      It makes me so sad to see the pitties walking around with their muzzles on around here. I always make a point to go say hi, they’re gorgeous and I’m sure people assume they’re vicious b/c of the muzzle/cage.

  2. Adrian Cho permalink
    July 17, 2012 2:08 am

    The photos of Chet on this page are fantastic!

  3. smothermother permalink
    July 17, 2012 8:42 am

    chet looks about as dangerous as gold fish. wish i had some witty comeback for you, but i sucks at that. it usually takes me a day or so to think of one!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    July 17, 2012 10:05 am

    I probably would have yelled back telling her to mind her own f**ing business. Not the most witty but would have satisfied me :).

  5. July 17, 2012 11:30 am

    Chet is such a beauty boy. Look at that face, he is so gorgeous. That lady can go to hell.

    A friend of mine had the biggest & most fiercest looking German Sheppard I had ever seen. And to top it off he is named Satan. I’m not sure if the dog is still alive but he was a sight to behold when I first saw him and I was a bit taken aback. Well Satan is the biggest goofball sweetheart you have ever seen. In all of 5 minutes he was the best of pals with me and would have laid in front of a speeding train for me cause I feed him cookies. He was lazy, will roll over for belly rubs and loves to have his ears and head scratched. His tail is perpetually wagging for anyone who pets him. Yet he looks menacing.

    • July 18, 2012 1:47 pm

      Sounds adorable. German Sheppards are my second favorite breed.

  6. July 17, 2012 12:13 pm

    He’s a cute boy!
    Bike lady might have had an issue with a dog before, you never know! Once a lady grabbed her child and ran away from my 5-pound little dog in fear while she was just smelling a bush and minding her own business.
    So, ignore it and have fun!

    • July 18, 2012 1:48 pm

      I get that she might have been afraid, it was weird though that she injected herself in to the conversation when there was no need.

  7. July 18, 2012 1:25 pm

    I have not had that happen to me yet. I am in the process of buying a Cane Corso – Trained to be a service dog for my son with Autism. These Dogs range 100 lbs and up, so i am expecting that reaction from some idiots. If you come up with any comments, let me know.

    • July 18, 2012 1:49 pm

      I’ll be sure to – that is a gorgeous looking dog. Service dogs amaze me, I’ve seen them provide such amazing help.

      • July 18, 2012 1:51 pm

        I am very hopeful that this will help him…can’t wait to bring the dog home. Will probably get him/her around January…I am going to have a name the dog contest on FB.

  8. Krista - The Tech Mom permalink
    July 19, 2012 9:33 am

    He looks like he us smiling in one photo. I love Huskys!

  9. July 19, 2012 2:18 pm

    I’d go somewhat light-hearted and sarcastic. “Oh yes, he’s very dangerous – quite likely to lick you to death, then roll over and show you his belly”

    Owning a large dog can work well for unwanted folks at the door, I’ve had a few very quickly leave.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

