Skip to content

Tidy up Tuesday: The zoo

July 24, 2012


(I’m sure anyone who knows me, or has ever set foot in my house is rolling, if not on the ground, then their eyes at the thought of me doing a Tidy Up Tuesday post).

V came in to this world with more stuffed animals than is right for any child to have. Not only did we receive them as pre-birth gifts, she received them as welcome gifts, and she also inherited the vast collections her parents had accumulated.

Sadly, she did not inherit, or come with a storage solution. For a while a select few sat on a bookshelf, and some others (or a thousand) sat at the end of her bed. Then they migrated into her laundry hamper (causing a severe case of homelessness for her dirty laundry) Then they spilled out over the top of the laundry hamper and took over a corner of her room.

But I was not sitting idly by while the great stuffy take-over, took over. No, I turned to pinterest. Actually, I just checked and this siege has been going on for at least 48 weeks – that’s when I pinned this:

Source: littlezookeepers.com via Coreen on Pinterest

And then promptly forgot what it really looked like and spent a great deal of time nagging hubby to create something that looked completely different. Then, about a month ago, I realized it was actually a commercial product and came this >< close to ordering it, if not for the cross-border shipping. Luckily hubby hadn't forgotten about this either, and found several blogs that had similar solutions made out of bookcases. He recently found a nearly-free bookcase on one of his deals sites. He then bought some dowels, and reused some wood he had from an old bunk bed and voila!

I’m sad we didn’t have a before, but we were so excited to clean these up! Seriously, looking at this picture, the stuffie avalanche made its way all the way out to the desk on the left side. It was a disaster.

V loves rearranging the animals, and we’re able to get her to put them away now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 9:43 am

    That is awesome! Is he taking orders yet?

  2. twohandsfull permalink
    July 24, 2012 9:47 am

    I love this. With 3 boys our stuffy collection is huge and I often think of throwing them out (I’d give them away but no on wants them!) Actually, maybe I can convince the boys to give some to the Youville Centre, I’ll have to check to see if they even want them.

  3. Sara permalink
    July 26, 2012 11:29 pm

    So awesome! I wonder if we built one if we could convince ds to take some of the 24 stuffies out of his bed and store them away…

  4. August 1, 2012 2:30 am

    oh the memories. It so looks like my daughter’s room… oh, a billion years ago…

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

