Skip to content

SOC Sunday: The Olympics

August 5, 2012

Today’s (optional) prompt: If you could compete in any Olympic sport or participate in the Games in any way, what would you want to do? Did you ever have Olympic goals personally?

**********************

One of my early memories is watching the 1976 Olympics while playing with my Gymnastics Barbie, captivated by Nadia Comăneci. I can’t guarantee it, but I’m fairly certain I have watched at least some of every Olympic Games since then (we had the nerve to get married on July 20th, 1996, prompting several of our guests to ensure that we installed a TV in the lounge outside our wedding reception…I may have been related to several of them).

It wasn’t until I was watching this year’s coverage of Usain Bolt that I remembered the excitement around Ato Boldon while we were on our honeymoon in Trinidad and Tobago. The entire island (we were on Tobago) seemed to be watching and talking about him and we got caught up in their excitement.

When I wasn’t wondering if I could get in the Guinness Book of World Records for longest marathon on a swing I thought that maybe I should pay attention to my love of Athletics (or Track and Field). Luckily my smoking habit took care of that, and I could never make it past lunch time on the swing. But I’ve decided to set V up with her own Olympic aspirations.

So far she’s competed in the somersault marathon, the Bongo gymnastics events and distance swimming with a pool noodle.  Hey, if beach volleyball made the cut, I’m sure one of those will too!

**********************

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post (in the sidebar).
  • Link up your post here.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 7:31 am

    There was a Sens game the night of our reception, we had friends doing play-by-play and colour commentary and they announced the score.

    • August 6, 2012 11:10 pm

      Cool, I know my sister gave several of our friends the gears when their weddings were too close to playoffs. I’m not sure which she would have picked…

Trackbacks

  1. Looking for something to do in Ottawa tonight? « One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

