Skip to content

Summer decisions…or dreaming

August 6, 2012

We’re a flaky bunch around these parts.

We consider buying a cottage, then decide we don’t want a second home to maintain, so we think about getting a trailer. But that seems like a lot of work, booking campsites and getting organized on the weekends, not to mention figuring out what to do with the dog. So we put in a small pool and seem relatively happy with that, until we rent a cottage for two weeks, and find ourselves back at square one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 12:02 pm

    I so want a pool! I’d rather have the pool because you can use it *every day* during the summer (even the not so hot days if you have a heater). A cottage or trailer would be lovely, but it is a lot of work to maintain and organize – plus all of the packing and travelling back and forth would be a pain in the behind. I couldn’t commit to that every weekend and feel I’d be wasting my money – and time for that matter.

    • August 7, 2012 8:58 pm

      I hear ya, but I also know people that commute from say Chelsea or Mississippi Lake…and we rented this cottage, so in theory we could do the same (and now you see how we got back to square one)

  2. August 8, 2012 12:00 am

    Don’t ask me why we’re buying a cottage 6 hours away. *sigh* I think I prefer the pool – even if it is only 6’ across and 18” deep.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

