Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday: Bathtub Mary

August 8, 2012

I lied, I can’t stay wordless about this one.

For years I’ve admired some of the finer examples of bathtub Marys around these parts. (I’m a little ashamed to tell you how long it took me to realize the statues were in bathtubs – but really, who does that?) But I think I’ve final found the ultimate bathtub Mary extravaganza winner. She’s spectacular. We passed her several times on our holidays and I dare you to find a more impressive example anywhere. The steps, the lights, the decorative stone, not to mention the brickwork, chain fence, hedges, urns and secondary statues. And yes, she IS in a bathtub.

bathtubmary

Think you’ve got a finer example? I want proof.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    August 9, 2012 8:40 pm

    We were visiting my grandma last week at her retirement home and while sitting outside in the courtyard with her and the boys they came racing back from their garden explorations to tell me they found a penguin statue. DH followed then snickering because what they’d actually found was Mary in her bath tub. Apparently to 4/6 year old boys she looks like a penguin.

    • August 10, 2012 3:40 pm

      That is hilarious. But really, who first thought of this, and then who was the next guy that thought it was a great idea?

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

