Skip to content

Tomatopocalypse

August 20, 2012

Seventeen. What is seventeen you ask? How about the number of quart jars of tomato sauce you will get from 50lbs of tomatoes.

I lied, three of the jars are whole tomatoes

You will also get a tomato-coloured kitchen, tomato-coloured clothes, tomato smelling hair and a good 10 hours of work cut out for you.

Do not start this at 4:30 in the afternoon, especially if you have to be at all functional before 6am the next morning. This is basic math people, learn from my mistakes!

I bought these yesterday on a smokin’ deal (less than $15!) I trucked them in and then headed out to walk the dog. While I was gone Bill and V shoved aside the red peppers I bought the day before washed them and sorted out any blemished ones. I returned home to not one, but two sinks full of tomatoes.

There were a few logistical issues with this setup.

Do you know the number one sign you won’t survive a zombie attack? Freaking out over a tomato filled kitchen. Suck it up and get processing buttercup!

zombiewalk16

Zombie attack or canning tomatoes? You decide

Once I got started, I was on a bit of a roll. It was only while looking at these pictures today that I realized I might have been a bit more relaxed now that I was armed:

Knives, boiling water, scoopy things: One of those has got to come in handy.

After lots and lots of skinning, scalding, juicing (and those 3 bottles of whole tomatoes that wouldn’t fit in the sauce pots – I didn’t cry I swear) we were underway:

Note the colour of my stove compared to the picture above. It will never recover.

The scariest part of this whole adventure? Heading out to the pitch black yard, unarmed, to dump the skins into my compost. Three times.

zombiewalk8

This afternoon, feelin’ good about my preparedness, I enjoyed some of the best tasting tomato juice I’ve ever had.

Believe me, if I drank there’d be vodka in there

And contemplated getting another 50lb. Huh, maybe the zombies already got my brains?!

===================

I’ve gone canning mad this year and the only explanation I have is that I must be preparing for when zombies attack. I’ll let you know how it goes…if you’re still around.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 11:10 am

    I don’t think I’ve seen this many tomatoes even in a large market! I love tomatoes in my sandwiches and as a fry and in curries.

    • August 23, 2012 3:30 pm

      You know, you’ve now got me looking up curry recipes…

  2. August 22, 2012 12:31 pm

    I LOVE this! Back home we used to do it every year 🙂

    • August 23, 2012 3:29 pm

      This is the second year I’ve done it, I loved having my own canned tomato sauce around all winter.

  3. October 9, 2012 2:31 pm

    I need to tomato shop with you next year. I paid almost double what you did, although I bout VERY late in season. I also didn’t learn from your mistakes, and started too late in the day and have a messy messy kitchen. But yummy tomatoes all winter makes up for it!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

