Skip to content

Rose regret

September 6, 2012

When we moved last year I knew what I was going to miss most from our old home were the gardens (holy awkward sentence structure!). I’d worked for years on them, sometimes enlisting my husband to help move 1 tonne of edging rock, sometimes benefiting from Chet’s tendency to dig, but spending a lot of time in them none the less:

The gardener

This became a lovely side garden.

Some of the plants I knew I wouldn’t be able to take with me:

treehugger1

My little tree hugger with our giant oak

But I took cuttings from many of my favorite plants so I could bring my beloved gardens with me. Unfortunately one of my favorite plants was a rose. It had bloomed by my front door for years. I’d even used a bloom as a substitute bow on a shower gift once and I think the recipient liked it better than the gift.:

Royal Victoria Hospital Rose

Royal Victoria Hospital Rose

And cuttings just wouldn’t work. So I decided to try transplanting it.

Royal Victoria Hospital Rose

It didn’t fare so well last year, but I held out hope that it would rebound after a winter’s rest. Unfortunately it did not survive and now all I’m left with are these pictures and a few dead twigs. Would I have regretted it more if I didn’t try? I’m not sure, but the results (to me) would have been the same.
Royal Victoria Hospital Rose

I haven’t yet removed the dead plant, I’m not sure how much of it is wishful thinking and how much is reserving a spot so I can find another one. But despite scouring plant swap boards looking for someone ready to part with their rose, I haven’t been able to find a replacement so I think it’s time to face the fact that it’s not coming back, pull up the roots and find a new plant to fill the gaping hole in my garden.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nora permalink
    September 6, 2012 9:42 pm

    Are you positive it’s completely dead? Try leaving it for the winter, cutting it way back, feeding it coffee grinds and more coffee grinds and then covering it for the winter. All you can do it try one more time…..just in case! The roses are beautiful!

    • September 6, 2012 10:14 pm

      That’s what I did last year. And not a single bud this year. It’s just twigs. 😦

  2. September 23, 2012 10:58 am

    Look at Chet dig! Go boy go! My dog used to dig but not too much. My uncle had a pointer in my grandmother’s house in Mattancherry and that dog used to dig all the time – she’d dig up a plant from one area and replant it in another area, and then bless the plant with her urine!!! Crazy gardener dog that one!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

