Skip to content

Lessons from a hasty costume decision

November 1, 2012

On November 1st of last year V decided that this year she would go door to door with her dad and I would stay home and hand out candy. You would think, given those 364 365 – leap year FTW – days, that I would have come up with a costume (I’m a bit of a halloween lover, I’ll dress up to accompany V and I’ll dress up to greet the kids at the door. Hey, I’d even dress up to party, but, well that just doesn’t happen any more).

Given that I’d had plenty of advance notice, it made perfect sense that I only decided to wear a costume (never mind decide what that costume would be!) at 4:30pm on October 31st. After touring various closets for about 15 minutes, this is what I came up with:

Not bad right? Well, not completely thought out either. If you’re a procrastinator like me, read and learn from my mistakes:

If you decide to pick a still usable, in fashion etc. dress from your closet,
and your costume involves smearing green makeup all over your exposed skin, you might want to verify the dress isn’t dry clean only before deciding it’s the perfect choice.

All make up needs an escape plan. Makeup all over your body would benefit from a mirror in the shower. Either that or you go to work with green earlobes.

If you don’t wear makeup you should seriously consider how you’re going to remove any mascara, black lipstick and black eyeshadow that you used to create shadows. Or, you’re a green-eared zombie on the 1st.

Same goes if you never wear nail polish, you either need to know how to rock a good mani, or make sure you have remover in the house before doing a crap job with the application:

Not all the lessons were gotchas though, some were for the people that share your house, and may complain about the volume of ‘stuff’ you own. Being a bit of a packrat comes in handy. The shawl was one I wore to my gr.13 grad and the makeup is part of a collection that I’ve amassed over the years of Halloween parties and Sens playoff runs. Yes I do that too:

Oh, and if they gripe about your spending? Being a shopaholic is great for costumes. I have no idea why I had that waist-length black wig or the witches hat. I also don’t remember buying them, but that might have more to do with me having the memory of a gnat more than anything else.

And finally, the most important lesson: Last Minute Witch is perfect if you’ve already switched to WST (Winter Shaving Time). C’mon, with all the potion brewing, and children cooking, what self-respecting witch has time to shave? And if you’re quick about it, you can claim you knew what you were going to be weeks ago!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2012 4:00 pm

    Ha! I think you did a great job 🙂 That has to suck about the dry clean only dress though.

    • November 7, 2012 10:30 pm

      Thanks. I’m still finding make-up in unexpected places! (my camerabag this morning)

  2. November 1, 2012 6:48 pm

    Great advice! I’ll take it to heart.
    Might I suggest employing a shower buddy instead of a mirror?

  3. November 3, 2012 6:34 pm

    Great costume & nice playoff make-up too.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

