Skip to content

Stream of Conscience Sunday – Free

November 4, 2012

This week is a prompt free week, and yet I’m still managing to tie things together.

I took last Friday off in the hopes that we’d be able to head up to the knitting retreat early. We used to (back in the days before 4 of us gave birth in the same year) head up to the retreat on Thursday, and some of us even talked about staying over the Monday. A 5-day weekend was just the thing to cure what ailed us.

Things didn’t work out this year as one of my fellow travelers had to work a full day so we didn’t leave the city until after 4 on Friday, barely making it down there in time for supper! It was still nice and relaxing to have the day off, I did some puttering around the house, worked in my craft room for a bit, and did a bit of shopping. I was hardly online, I wasn’t tied in to the office, and it felt great. I haven’t had that much time for vacation this year, only taking off the 2 weeks when we were away this summer. (I used to take an extra week to myself to decompress and missed that this year) I have quite a bit left to take, and I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to squeeze it in before the end of the year, but after having the taste of it on Friday, I’m sure going to try!

**********************
This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…
Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
Link up your post here.
Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    November 4, 2012 10:35 pm

    Sometimes you just need a break, whether you go someplace ir not. The break in routine refreshes us. I hope you get o take those days! Visiting from SSOC

  2. November 5, 2012 7:37 am

    I think we all need a week off to decompress. A vacatio/weekend away can be designed for relaxation, but you still have to prepare for it and come back from it. In that process we have the wonderful memories of what we just experienced but then it’s back to the hustle and grind before you know it.

  3. November 5, 2012 9:01 am

    It is hard to me to take a mental break — even when I have a physical one. Days when I just putter around and let the wind take me do more for a mental rest than anything. Glad you had some time off and hope you can get some more. P.S. Love the name of your blog.

    • November 7, 2012 10:32 pm

      Thanks! I enjoyed the day off so much I booked a couple more.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

