Skip to content

10 years on

November 5, 2012

This year’s visit to the Eastern Ontario Needler’s Retreat was the 10th year anniversary for me. I say it like that as there are a few years I missed in between, but my first visit was 2003. I started knitting ‘young’ you see, and I don’t mean that I wasn’t of an advanced age, I was 31 after all. What I mean is that I wasn’t rocking away at home with my cats on one side and my teeth in a glass on the other side, as it seems needlers are most often portrayed. But this year has made me realize I’m getting that much closer to the grey-haired granny so often thought of as a knitter.

On the drive down I was reflecting on all the previous times we’d made that trip (the Knitwits and I that is). The stages we’d moved though, from some of them still being single, being in school, 6 of us working together, me trying to conceive; to 5 of the 7 of us being married, a few of them finding new jobs, 3 of them being pregnant, me still trying to conceive; to me being the only one left at our former employer, 4 of us giving birth in just over a year (there are a whole lot of geriatric moms in that group!), me still trying to conceive. (Some people just don’t learn!)

needlers6

One of us decided to visit Mickey instead this year *g*

And every year it’s a different experience. There were rushed weekends where I raced home several times, there were four day weekends. There were weekends where I just went and hung out and didn’t go to the courses. There were years the scenery just begged to be photographed. There were years I wasn’t able to make it. There were years I didn’t blog about (and with my memory, they might as well have not happened). This year was the year of:

Image found here

V had asked me a couple of weeks ago, to knit her a pair of socks like my own. And at that moment, I swear angels sang. Also? I might have about 20 pairs of socks planned for her. I’ve been further inspired to knit some gifts and then we had the courses:

We knit i-cord with Suzanne Atkinson (we’d been taught this course years ago by the ever lovely ‘Teachy-Q’. It’s really a wonder she puts up with us at all.) It will seam, it will finish, it will edge, start and embellish. And you don’t need your corker to do it!

Then, I tried something I’d been curious about for a while, knitting with wire! Francine Hebert kicked butt teaching getting almost all of us through knitting our own beaded bracelets. This was the first item I’ve EVER finished in a course. I wasn’t terribly happy while knitting my bracelet, calling it a paperclip orgy, but I may play around again with different gauges of wires, and thinner needles and see what I come up with. I might even try knitting up some napkin rings!

Then, yet another first, I attended all three courses. Because Sunday morning’s course was being taught by none other than Lucy Neatby. If you have the chance to take a course with Lucy I highly recommend it. Not only does she appeal to a great variety of learning styles, but her way of thinking about knitting will blow your mind. I love listening to her talk about knitting. Her stitches have personalities (even the Australian cousin stitches seen here –

needlers2).

And if you get tired of her teaching, and are bored by her samples, she is a visual treat herself from her head:

needlers1

to her toes:

2012-11-04

And what did she teach us? She taught us to put holes in our knitting on purpose! She even managed to get a crochet hook in my hand (it was *not* pretty).

Also? She casually mentioned I don’t have to knot the last stitch on a bind off, showed us a new way to do a YO lace hole and that we can bind and knit two stitches at once. I’m telling ya, mind blowing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2012 1:26 am

    Knitting intimidates me so much. I crochet a little, and somewhat poorly at that, and have never tried to knit. I read a little about it, but it just confuses me! So, needless to say, I am always in awe of anyone who knits! Some of this post went over my head, lol. But I enjoyed the enthusiasm 🙂 It sounds like you had fun!

    • November 7, 2012 10:32 pm

      I really did! and c’mon in the water’s fine *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

