Skip to content

When the elderly attend concerts

November 22, 2012

Late in the summer (or was it early in the fall?) I was faced with the ultimate parenting concert dilemma – do I buy for the Wiggles for V and I or do hubby and I sneak off to The Who for an evening? Chances are it was a last time for both; I’m not sure how much longer V’s love affair with the Wiggles will last (not to mention that three of them retired) and on The Who’s side, well there are only 2 of them left at this point and they’re closing in on 70 (never mind the fact that we’re 43). So, after much soul searching, I decided on the Wiggles. I’d already seen The Who, in 2006 (granted V did see The Wiggles in 2010, but c’mon, she was 2)

Enchanted by the Wiggles
And while my memory isn’t great at the best of times, I’d still put it ahead of the memory of a two year old.

We Wiggled and I didn’t really think about The Who again. (Oh, did I mention that despite the fact that hubby and I met at a Metallica concert, The Who is quite possibly my favorite band of all time?)

As a surprise my wonderful husband made this happen:

And I got crazy giddy and we went to the concert, saw an opening band I want to know more about:

And then we enjoyed a Quadrophenia and more. (I *swear* one of these years I’ll learn not to wear high heels to a concert. Maybe by the time I’m 90 or something.)

Pete Townshend
(Check out the guy behind Pete. Did anyone else notice they had Severus Snape playing keyboards?)

Not only was the stage show entertaining, the 4 wasted guys in front of us filled in any lulls the boys on stage couldn’t.*

Well, until they sparked up a joint. Then? They pissed my husband off. I believe his wording was something to the effect of, ‘butt out or get out’.

Yes, you read that correctly. Despite my efforts to stop him my husband narced out at a Who concert. He is officially too old to attend any more concerts. 

*One of them was so out of it he kept spontaneously sitting down. Then he’d realized it and pop back up again to start weaving around until bam! Back on his keister** .  I’m fairly certain he thought no one noticed that he kept fall/sitting.

**Why does spell check not know keister is a word? Damn you squiggly red line!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2012 11:18 pm

    what an awesome concert! it was a dream come true for me!

    • November 22, 2012 11:24 pm

      It was amazing! I’m blown away every time I see their performances, and live was just that much better.

  2. November 23, 2012 9:48 am

    so what youre saying, is you were staring at 4x 19 year old dudes butts the whole night.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

