Skip to content

Goodbye Old Pal

March 2, 2013

Chet left us today.

He’d been a part of our family since a fateful Thanksgiving Sunday in 2003 when we picked him up at the side of our cottage road. We never knew why he was left, or why he was never looked for, but we loved him from the get-go.

I mean, who could resist this face?
Chet's first day

Those eyes:
DSC04616

Or his singing:
woo-woo

But he was more than just his good looks. Not only did he love exercising (I’ve walked him twice a day almost every day for the last 9 years, 4 months and 16 days…I’m not really sure what I’m going to do tomorrow morning.)
Brr

V walking her puppies

I think he's trying to tell...

But he helped me garden,
The gardener

Loved to swim…or at least wear his floaty:
blog3

Oh, and he was always up for a car ride:
DSC05399

And he had a great sense of humour:
Joker

Laughing boy

He’d occassionally get into a spot of trouble, but really maybe he just thought he was helping with the shredding:
Dog's lucky he only ate the envelope

He was good with change too, I mean, not only did he accept us as his adoptive family, but he didn’t miss a step when we added first one sister:Slackers

And then a second sister:
CIMG0780

He couldn’t have asked for a better last winter, he loved every minute of every snowfall, spending (it seemed) more time outside than in.
Crazy Dog

Goodbye sweet buddy.
Crazy Dog

We’re all going to miss you so much.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandria permalink
    March 2, 2013 9:21 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦

  2. March 2, 2013 9:23 pm

    Saying good-bye is one of the hardest things we have to do in life, and it is particularly poignant when it comes to our pets. I know the words don’t help, but I offer them anyway: i am so, so sorry for your loss. Chet was obviously much loved.

  3. Willy permalink
    March 2, 2013 10:14 pm

    I’m so sorry – he was a great big softy, and even our little dog-fearers really got to understand how gentle he was.

    • March 3, 2013 9:41 am

      That was one of the things I was thinking about yesterday, how much they came around – even walking him!

  4. March 2, 2013 10:14 pm

    Chet was a gorgeous dog. I am sorry for your loss. Just like you, I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I did not have Alex or a dog staying with us to walk twice a day. He seemed extremely happy on the pictures you posted therefore you must have given him an amazing life and for that and your love and devotion I am pretty sure he’ll always be grateful to you and your family.

  5. March 2, 2013 10:29 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss, lots of love to the three of you.

  6. Francine permalink
    March 2, 2013 10:31 pm

    Hugs

  7. Adele permalink
    March 2, 2013 10:35 pm

    Sorry Coreen for your loss of Chet. Your tribute made me cry. May he run forever over the Rainbow Bridge.

  8. March 2, 2013 10:59 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss (*hugs*) He was a beautiful dog, and he sounds like he was amazing. It’s always so hard to say goodbye.

  9. March 2, 2013 11:58 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. He looks like an amazing dog. Dogs are great friends to have.

  10. Jenn & roo permalink
    March 3, 2013 12:25 am

    So going to miss him… 😦 sorry to all of you for your loss.

  11. March 3, 2013 2:06 am

    That’s sad he is gone but I am glad he had a loving home for part of his life. I just posted a story about our husky. He looks a great deal like your pup here. I can’t imagine losing him (or our old dog Baylee who has just turned 11). Thanks for the photos. Such a beautiful dog.

  12. March 3, 2013 3:58 am

    I loved your beautiful photos. Such a gorgeous post. xx

  13. March 3, 2013 5:51 am

    Very sad but what wonderful memories…

  14. March 3, 2013 8:55 am

    Oh Coreen, what a terrible thing for us to share. I am so sorry, Chet was a gorgeous baby, and obviously well loved. I’m crying again… for two lovely doggies.

    • March 3, 2013 9:42 am

      I know. I was a mess when I read your post about Katie. Huge hugs to you guys.

  15. Anonymous permalink
    March 3, 2013 11:48 am

    Oh Corianna, Bill and V – I’m so, so sorry to hear this news! I know you will miss Chet terribly – he was a beautiful boy who made beautiful music when he sang! Big hugs to all of you! xoxo

  16. March 3, 2013 2:20 pm

    What a stunning dog, and looks like he had a very sweet personality too. So sorry for your loss 😦

  17. smothermother permalink
    March 4, 2013 8:20 am

    Oh gosh. I am so sorry for your loss. Reading about two loved dogs gone in the same week, I need to go home and hug our big goof ball, knowing he won’t be with us forever. Our deepest sympathies to your fam. The loss of a beloved pet is so hard.

  18. March 4, 2013 6:50 pm

    I’m so sorry about Chet. This makes me incredibly sad. I know you gave him a wonderful life and he treasured every moment as a part of your family. He was beyond gorgeous and makes me miss my Husky/Malamute mix Nookie. I’m glad you have Chet’s 2 sisters to keep you company as you grieve for your lost pal.

  19. March 5, 2013 12:36 am

    So sorry to hear that. Hugs

  20. March 6, 2013 7:42 pm

    Awwww. So sad to hear about Chet. GC and I loved the pictures and the tribute, and we both cried at the end. Hugs to you and your family.

  21. March 7, 2013 8:45 pm

    I’m so sorry. 😦 His personality shines through in those great photos!

  22. March 12, 2013 9:43 am

    What a beautiful dog. So sorry he’s gone. Those photos of him are wonderful – lots of memories there.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Videos #23 – Well, they’ve all got music in them… | One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

