Skip to content

I’m sensing a new family tradition

April 2, 2013


Do you know what I did this weekend?

I:
Hung around with my husband and daughter.
Went for walks.
Watched my kid ride her bike and play in puddles.
Took pictures.
Relaxed.
Hid a few eggs.
Watched my kid find (hopefully all) the eggs.


Do you know what I didn’t do this weekend?

I didn’t:
Run around like a chicken with her head cut off.
Operate the mom taxi service.
Stress.
Plan meals.
Have any appointments or obligations.
Prepare dinner for more than 2 other people.
Eat any sort of traditional ‘holiday’ dinner.

And it was the best weekend ever. A long weekend just for the sake of 3 days off, an un-Holiday if you will. (We’re not going to mention that the rest of my family had a 4 day weekend. *ahem*). This is, as far as I know, the first time we haven’t participated in the holiday madness on any of the holiday weekends…ever. I think we need to do this more often. Running around because you’ve always run around is for the birds. I’m not saying we’ll never have another turkey or ham, but that it might be next weekend, and just because we feel like it, not because we have to.

How was your weekend?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 8:47 pm

    Your weekend sounds awesome to me 🙂

    We had to run around everywhere, and it was chaos. It was good, we had fun and all… but it was CHAOS.

    • April 3, 2013 5:24 pm

      That’s what our weekends are usually like too. It was a really nice change.

  2. April 3, 2013 6:04 pm

    The simpler holidays are always the best! I get no joy from knocking myself out to have things perfect. Nobody remembers later if you went all out of not. The less stress the better. 🙂

  3. Willy permalink
    April 4, 2013 9:17 am

    I totally hear you and glad you did it! We did something very similar and just like you said – it was awesome!

  4. April 7, 2013 9:52 am

    Sounds amazing! Our March Break was like that – for the first time we didn’t go anywhere, or do anything, and spent entire days in our PJs – it felt so decadent and restful.

    Our Easter was the opposite of yours – tons of visiting family, cooking, baking, fussing over a giant turkey, etc. It was still good, though :).

    • April 9, 2013 1:52 pm

      I’m always the big fuss holiday person, I had no idea how good it would feel to just rest.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

