Skip to content

Her brain went sproing!

April 9, 2013

We’ve clearly gotten to cocky. It’s been years since V’s really slipped up on the ‘crafting in appropriate locations’ call,

Starry Night

I think she was trying to recreate Starry Night

So we’d gotten lax. Part of this is that she’s five (so she should know better) and part of it is that she’s just always followed the rules, so why would this be any different? And yet it really was. While she usually uses her imagination for good, you know to craft a harness and seatbelts to make a dogsled for Pretend Chet and Pretend Sasha:

4theloveofpete5

Pretend Chet and Pretend Sasha needed to do some mushing.

Yesterday her imagination led her completely astray. My child, who really does freaking know better! decided to pretend she was outside writing on the laneway with chalk. The problem with this bit of play was that she was inside. Not just inside but upstairs in her carpeted bedroom. Wait there were two problems, the second being that her ‘chalk’ was a marker:

4theloveofpete1

Seriously kid, WHAT THE HELL

Once Mommy discovered this, imagination quickly departed the building and reality set in. And reality decided it was time to teach Miss V how to scrub carpets.

4theloveofpete3

Damn right you’re going to clean that!

I’m glad the carpet’s cleaned, but I hope she doesn’t get the bright idea that she can do it again since it’s obviously ‘recoverable’.

4theloveofpete4

I’m still baffled at the thought process that led her to believe this was a good idea. I mean, it’s not just a ‘whoops I was writing on paper and it bled through’ or something, she clearly uncapped a marker and wrote her initials on the fricken carpet.

I liked it better when she was keeping me on my toes with the good unexpected stuff! This whole crazy crap out of the blue isn’t going to let up any time soon is it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2013 9:25 am

    I was the kind of child who made that kind of decision and I can’t even tell you why.

  2. April 10, 2013 11:57 am

    I know I’ve done stuff like that as a kid, lol. Don’t know why, just because? The joys! I think it’s great you taught her a lesson about it by having her clean it up though 🙂 Hopefully that will stick.

  3. April 15, 2013 1:07 pm

    Ah, the joys of being a parent. I do not miss that. Best of luck!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

