Skip to content

I see off-road roller-blades in my future.

April 29, 2013

On Saturday I went for a walk with V. I use both the terms ‘walk’ and ‘with’ very loosely here. It was more a desperate bid for me to keep up and keep her from splashing, sloshing, drowning or breaking a bone. I managed to take some pictures along the way, and upon review, I have determined they are actually evidence.

You see, for the longest time I’ve been feeling old and overweight. I mean, my five year old is KILLING me. But now, now I have proof that it’s not just me. She’s simply not human!

First attempt at flight:

walk7

It appears the jacket weighed her down. She removed it and suddenly:

walk1

walk2

walk3

You may note she’s getting further and further away. I wouldn’t blame you if you thought I was stationary while snapping those pics, but please note the surroundings. I was HUSTLING to keep up. Oh, and don’t think she restricts this behaviour to times when there are no witnesses. Just ask anyone at any store, or restaurant we’ve been in. Her return to the table from the washroom can only be described as supersonic. Or, as I like to request and she likes to think of it, ‘slow’.

You don’t get what’s so special? Here’s a collage of proof:

walk2

Not once did her feet touch the ground. NOT ONCE. How am I supposed to keep up with a child who can achieve flight?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 1:29 pm

    Little known fact: all children under the age of 6 float on a cushion of air. Cuts down on friction.

    • April 29, 2013 3:24 pm

      Does this mean she’ll slow down at 6? I might be able to hang in for another year or so…

  2. April 29, 2013 1:37 pm

    Ha! You sure have your hands full!

    • April 29, 2013 3:24 pm

      At least the crazy hair makes her easy to find when she bolts off *g*

  3. May 3, 2013 1:27 am

    The girl is awesome. She’s so full of life and that age I guess mostly all kids are like that. Lovely pics.

Trackbacks

  1. Feeling daffy | One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

