Skip to content

I never would have imagined it.

April 17, 2012

(Inspired by Rebecca from Bit Of Momsense)

When we moved from our much smaller house last year we were quite happy to have a family room off the kitchen, as well as a basement rec room and a bedroom or two for V to play in. (Hey distributing the mess makes it look like less, right?) She crafts at the kitchen table most of the time, and has a great selection of games and toys tucked neatly out of sight in the family room (on the other hand, the basement and her ‘tea room’ are a DISASTER). So there’s imagination all over, but we can usually keep it contained.

I love the set up, I love to hear her puttering around, and she’ll even often go play at the window bench in the dining room…as a matter of fact I’m sure I saw 3 or 4 chargers neatly laid out in the living room, I need to remember to clean those up.

Getting back on track, one thing I did not foresee in the V’s play area scenario:

Kitchen ceiling ninjas

Well, technically, 3 ninjas and an amputee octopus. At least I’m not tripping over them.

She loves tossing them up there, or on the cupboards, or the walls, or really anywhere. She races them, or races hers against her father’s. If they’re thrown too close together or if they cross paths, they’ll wrestle their way down the wall.

The thing about the ceiling though is it appears to suspend the law of gravity; so they do actually go up and never come down. She’ll wait patiently (hopefully ?) for them to fall, going off to play with something else, coming  back occasionally to check on them, wondering how long they’ve been up there. Eventually that stops being fun and we have to climb up to get them, just to have her toss them around again.

ps – as I was writing this I looked up at the family room ceiling and discovered the second octopus. This one still has all his limbs attached

pps – despite my husband’s best(?) intentions, she has not yet discovered the joy of throwing these at the running ceiling fan. Yet.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 9:01 pm

    That looks like a lot of fun!! I love it!

    • April 25, 2012 7:47 pm

      She giggles like a maniac whenever she gets to toss one around.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!