Skip to content

Sens FanFest

September 18, 2010

I love a spontaneous great day out, a little bit more when someone else has done all the planning, and even better when it’s a day V enjoys too (and I will admit, it’s best when it’s free!). Friday I managed to hear a snippet on the radio (aka the alarm) about a Sens open practice this morning. I immediately added it to the ‘that would be fun’ bucket in my brain. At dinner last night I mentioned it to hubby who also thought it would be fun (note the lack of research on both our parts). So this morning we were up bright and early (aren’t we always with those dogs!) and talking up the ‘go Sens go’ day with V.

We actually started talking it up Friday night, so she took the opportunity when she was over at her cousins’ to get herself hyped up by playing with their hockey gear (they’ll never know):

I double checked the time with Google discovered that this wasn’t just an open practice but was actually Sens Fanfest, complete with bouncy castles and face painting! Yes this upped the fun factor in my mind, but it also notched up the worry that the place would be packed so we headed out bright and early with a quick detour to pick up some non-perishable food items (aka price of admission).

The moment V slipped her Sens jersey on she started chanting ‘Go Sens Go’. She loved the covered walkway from the parking lot:

it gave her cheers plenty of amplification. She was immediately drawn to the bouncy castle but we managed to pry her away with promises of ‘after’. We slipped into the used equipment tent, where luckily the only thing she tried on was a new helmet (otherwise headsweat – eww!) and then headed (directly we thought) for the rink. We ended up making a detour at the Sparty Kids Club table, where we signed V up. I’ll freely admit that it was the kick-ass metal lunchboxes that won me over.

If she’ll let me I’m going to start bringing my lunch to school work in it!

We finally made it to a seat and she was entranced. Then she wanted to be like all the other kids and get closer to the ice.

I’m slightly afraid that she’ll now think she can do this at all the games and she’ll duke it out with the photographers for this spot:

We didn’t stay for the whole practice, she was starting to fidget and well, that gives hubby hives. So, out to the bouncy castle lineup we went. She had her fun in the baby octagon:

and I know I should have thought of it before releasing her, but when the attendant called them all out she was the last to leave, and only after some major coaxing. I had that moment of panic (okay maybe a little glee) when I thought I was going to have to crawl in the castle after her.

She was a bit sad to head out, and has mentioned all evening that she wants to head back to the Scotiabank Place tomorrow for more hockey and cheering and bouncing. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 10:58 pm

    Oooh fun!! Boys would have loved that. We visited the cats on the hill. Again. It’s been our summer ‘thing’.

  2. neeroc permalink*
    September 18, 2010 11:09 pm

    You know what? I’ve never done that. What a cool idea I’ve got to add that to a list!

  3. September 19, 2010 10:14 am

    Oh how fun! Me and Ben would’ve loved doing this too. And that truly is a terrific lunch box!

  4. September 25, 2010 10:46 pm

    BTW – Woo noticed. He always notices. 🙂

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

