Skip to content

No respect

October 28, 2010

You know you’re old when you start correcting the 20-something year olds about who originally recorded a song. The line cook in our cafeteria calls me ‘tweeter’. It’s how he remembers me; I mentioned I blog and tweet and there ya go, I’m tweeter. So he’s been talking about a Headstones song ‘Tweeter and the Monkey Man’ and how I ‘should ‘youtube it or whatever you connected people do’ (seriously, what’s up with the 22-year old that doesn’t use a computer? Not to mention holy crap on a stick we shouldn’t be employing people that are half my age. I’m sure that makes them 12).

The fog of old-timers finally cleared last night and I remembered to put it into ‘the Google’ and of course I know that song! Not only do I know that song, but I know the original Travelling Wilbury’s version too.

And while I hated it when my mother would correct me about the ‘first’ ‘original’ and ‘better’ versions of songs I was enjoying, I of course had to do the same today. And then he called me one hundred years old.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 2:07 pm

    Of course, the Headstones version is better than the original. Although I do like them both. hmmm… time to crank it up for my office mates.

  2. Deb permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:45 pm

    Guess what song I had stuck in my head today? Thanks Chickie 🙂

  3. October 31, 2010 9:53 pm

    This happens to me. “Well, you know… that song was originally record by SOMEONE WHO DOESN’T SUCK.”

    Then I feel bad. But only for a moment. Then I think I may be turning into Abe Simpson… well in my day…

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

