Skip to content

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

March 17, 2011

For most of my life I’ve heard my family story as one of Irish descent (on my mother’s side). Yes, the family name was an anglicized version of a French name, but the legend was that it was brought to the Irish during the Norman invasion.
Turns out the internet’s a bitch and somebody was telling stories. During the year I was off with V I was I signed up for several genealogy sites, as well as some local discussion boards where several of my relatives (ah those Catholics! my grandfather was one of 14 children, and his father was one of 10, chances are if you’re from a long-time Ottawa Valley (catholic) family I can find you in my tree) have done a great deal of research and discovered, as I did, that the males in our family were in fact FRENCH. F-R-E-N-C-H – francais. Sure they mostly, to the letter, married Irish women (I suspect the earliest wives may have been Filles du Roi), but they were french and identified their children as such on census forms. We’re talking marriage records back to the seventeenth century Quebec (gotta love those Mormons!).

Any hoodle, I’m not sure why I started down this road, other than to say it’s St. Paddy’s day, and I’m NOT IRISH. I do enjoy a great parade though:

And a Shamrock shake. How could I forget about Shamrock Shakes? I’m sensing an imminent fast food run.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 2:37 pm

    Hunh. Learn something new about your family history day. 🙂

    ps – what is with the robots at the saint patty’s day parade?

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 17, 2011 2:42 pm

      What robots?

      • March 17, 2011 4:50 pm

        The 5th last and 6th last shots….

        • neeroc permalink*
          March 17, 2011 8:52 pm

          Robots? Are we even related? Those are storm troopers, boba fett and a tusken raider.

          Robots. Psh.

  2. March 19, 2011 9:44 pm

    My greatx4 grandfather was one of the original settlers of Richmond after the War of 1812. He was a sergeant in the British army, but was from Co. Leitrim in Ireland. I found photos online of his & other relatives’ tombstones in St. John’s cemetery — would love to get there one of these days & have a look myself!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 24, 2011 10:20 am

      Let me know if you ever do make it up this way, Richmond is just down the road and around the corner.

      I spent many afternoons with my grandmother traipsing through the local cemeteries looking for family history. Sadly, her family bible was lost after she died. #92 of of my 101 in 1001 is to re-visit the cemetery (it’s one of the ones that won’t allow the stones to be photographed.) …oh now you’ve done it! They now have the pics up for that HUGE cemetery. I foresee many browsing hours ahead!
      Have you been to http://www.bytown.net/richmond.htm? (I’m guessing the site you saw the stones on was http://www3.sympatico.ca/scott.naylor/Graves/NewIndex/GraveMarker1.HTM

      Sorry for the rambling. Lesson – never get a history geek talking *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

