Skip to content

When ideal vacations clash

August 9, 2012

Bill and I have very different ideas about what a vacation should be. Besides the fact that my preferred vacation would involve sun and sand and his would involve skis and mountains, when we do end up at the same place, my ‘schedule’ would involve books and lazing for hours a day and his would involve itineraries *shudder*. This applies at home or away,  and on weekends or two week stretches. I’m not sure about you, but I strongly believe you shouldn’t come back from a vacation more tired then when you left. And sitting still seems to make him antsy to the point of combustion.

This becomes really interesting when I win the thumb wrestling match and we find ourselves alone at a cottage for 2 weeks. Bill rests for 1/2 and hour then he starts pacing, looking for jobs. Here for example are the things he tinkered with (at our rental) during our vacation:

  • fixed aerator – the lake water had some sediment that was clogging the taps. He disassembled them and cleaned them out.
  • fixed bathroom door – it rubbed on the floor, so he took it off the hinges and sanded it down.
  • installed satellite – the owner had been attempted FTA, but we brought up our receiver and Bill dialled it in.
  • tried to fix screen door – the wheels on the sliding screen door were so seized that they were warn flat. Did not stop him from turning the door around and looking for new runners.
  • worked on bbq – it wasn’t working well, so he thought it needed a good cleaning but it turned out the burner was DONE. The part number and replacement has been fully researched.
  • discovered paddleboat not seaworthy – not really a job but a lot of work pedalling back and we nearly sank!
  • patched bongo – the inflatable raft had a slow leak which took more than one patching session to fix.
  • fixed trim on edge of counter – he didn’t have an iron to reattach the pre-glued strip, so he heated up a frying pan and used it like an iron. What is it they say about necessity?
  • straightened knife tip – sure it might seem like a small thing, you know something you could live with even if it shredded your tomato slices a bit, but nope, the pliers had to come out.

I’m sure there were more, but he seemed annoyed when I started documenting these things (it might have been the hysterical giggling) and we all know relying on my memory will never work!

It did give me a great idea for all future vacations; we’ll become handyman tenants. Does your cottage need a bit (I stress a bit – I don’t want mold, or outdoor plumbing or critters) of work? Rent it to us. I can lounge about, pop an eye open every now and then to make sure V’s okay and maybe make the occasional meal or two, and he can putter away on home improvements. Win-win-win right?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2012 4:47 pm

    I think that’s a great idea. Makes everyone happy including the property owner. I’d also look into tropical destinations, I’m sure there are beach houses that could use a person puttering around.

    • August 10, 2012 3:39 pm

      I like the way you think! Although Bill seems to think that winter travel is his domain, with the skiing and all.

  2. Cindy permalink
    August 9, 2012 8:18 pm

    I’m with Alison…especially regarding tropical destinations!

  3. August 9, 2012 8:51 pm

    I am just like you, and today I spent hours at our cottage rental reading and relaxing. My husband is partially self-employed, so guess what type of work he was doing most of the day??

    • August 10, 2012 3:41 pm

      See, that’s just not right! (your hubby that is) I’m glad at least there are a few sensible people out there *g*

  4. August 9, 2012 10:21 pm

    Sign me up!! Come stay at our cottage!!

  5. August 12, 2012 4:29 pm

    I’d like you and Bill to come stay at *our* house for a couple of weeks. I’m making a list for him right now :).

    • August 13, 2012 9:10 am

      Haha! As long as there are lounging opportunities for me, we’re in!

  6. August 14, 2012 3:02 am

    Damn. I was going to ask you to stay at our house, but it looks like you are booking up!

  7. August 14, 2012 12:29 pm

    My ideal vacation also involves skis and mountains!

    But it seems to me that you have found the perfect solution. A free cottage stay in exchange of handyman work

    • August 16, 2012 10:29 am

      I don’t understand the ski vacation thing, I’ve tried, but I just don’t. Then again I think I should have been born in Arizona (for the temperature not the gun toting rednecks! *g*)

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

