Skip to content

Mother’s Day, another day

May 9, 2011

Last week we had a discussion with our real estate agent about our upcoming open house. I approached the subject by noting that this Sunday would be Mother’s Day. Her reply was, ‘don’t worry, my kids will be taking me out for brunch, it won’t interfere with my day.’

Now, believe it or not her Mother’s Day hadn’t crossed my mind. In fact, my Mother’s Day hadn’t crossed my mind (more on that in a bit). My actual concern was whether this family-type day was a good day to be holding the open house. Would people be less likely to be out driving around checking other people’s homes? Does anyone actually get a house bought for them as a Mother’s Day gift? It really does seem more a birthday or anniversary gift…

Fast forward to this morning, and my brain received no memos, notes or tweets pertaining to the fact that it could let the rest of me sleep in. 5:30 rolled around and I was DONE. By 7:00 hubby and V were up creating blueberry pancakes for me before I headed out to walk Chet.

Then it we began the prep for the open house. It’s a good thing that after fighting so hard to have V I really and truly consider every day ‘Mother’s Day’ and her the best gift I could ever receive, because I have come to the conclusion that having an open house on any ‘event’ day must be the best non-tragic way of making that day suck. Not only did we do repairs, keep V from playing with anything that would create a mess (poor child was bored out of her mind), do a top-to-bottom spic and span clean, we were then kicked out of the house for three-ish hours and I wasn’t able to display V’s art:

Adding to the general mood of the day, hubby has some frustrations with our agent, which he shared with me repeatedly, doing nothing other than adding to the already tense day and causing my blood pressure to skyrocket. Good freaking times.

All that being said I’ve been promised Another’s Day to make up for the general suckitude of this day.
And I’ve got plans. Big ones.

(Is it wrong that when V asked me this morning if it was still Mother’s Day I answered ‘yes’? I mean if she wants to keep pampering me and telling me how much she loves me who am I to stop her? Right?)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 9:44 am

    glad to hear you are getting a “make up” day. hope the open house was profitable…

  2. Deb permalink
    May 9, 2011 3:13 pm

    Those are cute MD crafts 🙂
    I’m happy to hear you get Another’s Day – you deserve it!

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 10, 2011 3:00 pm

      I really wish I could have left them out. How dare they call them clutter!

      Thanks Deb.

  3. May 10, 2011 12:33 pm

    I love the crafts!
    I asked for a day ‘in lieu’ of Mother’s Day. Waking up at 7 and running for 11K just didn’t feel celebratory 😉

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 10, 2011 3:00 pm

      You never know with you crazy runners *g* Have a great in lieu day too!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

