Skip to content

Don’t mind me, I’m just polishing my trophy

June 1, 2012

Free images from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Earlier today (and without even trying) I managed to beat out what I can only assume was some fairly stiff competition for the dubious title of worst mother EVER. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this gaudy, glittery thing, and this may be the one award I hope I’m not the owner of for very long. (As you can see from my title the upkeep on it is ridiculous!) Just in case you were thinking of giving me a run for the money, let me share the secrets of my success:

V’s kindergarten concert was this afternoon; she’s been practicing for weeks and was super excited about it. Being this was a school thing it was held during school hours – funnily enough, those hours happen to coincide with my work hours, which is not terribly conducive to my actually working. Luckily enough I was working at my office that’s located 7 minutes from V’s school (as opposed to the one 50+ minutes away), and I figured popping out for the half hour concert wouldn’t be earth-shattering. So with 1 minute to spare I slid in to an empty seat in the gym and watched and cheered and took pictures.

When it was all over the teachers made the announcement that they would take the children back to the classrooms and if the parents wished to take them home they would have to follow the normal sign-out procedure. I got a moment with V in the hall as she headed back to class and explained that I needed to go back to work, so she was going to head over to the daycare and then one of us would pick her up at the normal time. And that’s what we did. She trudged off to class, me to my cube.

I’d gotten 15 minutes of work in when the daycare called. It turns out V was the only child who went to daycare after school.The ONLY freaking child.  NINETEEN other children did not. 17 other parents were clearly NOT the worst parents EVER. Nope, it was my kid sad and alone in her daycare while all her other friends headed home with their folks. Needless to say I shot out of that office like a bullet.

Now I’m just trying to figure out how to make it up to her. Think she’d like a pony?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2012 12:54 am

    aaaaaaaaaaaw

    But it was not your fault all the other parents took their kids home. You didn’t know that

    • June 2, 2012 10:40 pm

      I really do feel like I skipped a lesson somewhere! I mean EVERY other parent took their kids home.

      • June 3, 2012 7:43 am

        yeah, that is odd. But if it were a mandatory thing, then they would have told you so, instead of giving you the option. I think it was just a cruel coincidence 😦

        HUG

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 2, 2012 6:54 am

    Sounds a bit like parental blackmail to me….suggesting that parents could take their kids home (=you should tae your kids home). They’ve been paid for the day. I think they should get the award for bad atttude that they would call you at work to tell you she was the only kid there!! Instead of giving you a guilt complex, they could have turned it into the best day ever of ‘we can do whatever you want today’ kind of scenarios! Shame on them I say!

    • June 2, 2012 10:42 pm

      Ya, I did wonder if there was some of them wanting to have the afternoon without kids, BUT, they did call because she came to them crying, broken up because she was the only one who got shipped from school to daycare.

  3. Adele eyman permalink
    June 2, 2012 1:42 pm

    I agree! When my son was 4, he was the only kid in the after-nursery-school program at the Y, because his dad and I were working, and the teacher in charge loved spending the time one to one with him. You are not a bad parent, you have been bullied by the oh-so-snobby Ottawa small town small mind culture. I’d fire that day care and find one where the people like being with kids!

    • June 2, 2012 10:46 pm

      I think she would have been okay with it if it was a regular thing, but she was pretty broken up when she realized she was the only one headed from school to daycare (and I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt).

  4. June 2, 2012 4:28 pm

    Is your math/typing ok or are there twins in her class or something? 19? 17? Huh?

    Also, meh. The other parents clearly work far enough away that going to school & then back to school would have been a hassle for them 😉

    • June 2, 2012 10:47 pm

      Twins and because it’s both JK and SK in the room, siblings. I like your thinking, but then that little voice in my head says, ‘well, you could have taken her back to work with you’ Because it’s a bitch *g*

  5. Barbara permalink
    June 2, 2012 4:52 pm

    Are you sure it was a bad thing for V? Reid would love to have a teacher to herself. I bet V got the super-special treatment and if she didn’t, shame on those teachers.

    • June 2, 2012 10:52 pm

      She did get to hang out in the directors office, and popcorn from the ‘grader’s room, so she was happy, but she was totally crying when she figured she was the only one of her friends headed there after school.

  6. June 2, 2012 6:38 pm

    Oh honey. The teacher had kids somewhere too — going to daycare after school. Don’t. Feel. Guilty. About. This.
    Seriously, it’s a handy way to offload kids after a concert, that’s all. I used to be the Worstest Worst Mother when I sometimes ( occasionally… rarely?) got my kids to go to school on snow days because we live just down the street from the school. I figured they would get extra attention…. (It wasn’t very often and I wised up ASAP…… See what guilt does? : )

    • June 2, 2012 10:48 pm

      Man, since we’re not a bus family I totally plan on sending V to school on snow days! Thanks for the heads up!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

